Welcoming the Rev. Amelia Mu’mina Marie

We are thrilled to welcome the Rev. Amelia Mu’mina Marie to our beloved community as our new Ministerial Specialist for Religious Education and Congregational Life! We hope you were able to join us last Sunday when Rev. Amelia led us in a special multigenerational service, “Welcoming Wonder,” her first worship service in her new role.

Rev. Amelia is familiar to many in our community as it was here during the ministry of our Minister Emerita, the Rev. Judith Meyer, while she was serving as a Lead Religious Education teacher to our young people, that she received her calling to the professional ministry.

She attended seminary at Starr King School for the Ministry — our UU theological school in the San Francisco Bay Area — earning two professional degrees, a Master of Divinity and a Master of Arts in Religious Leadership for Social Change. She is also a graduate of the Tisch School for the Arts at NYU where she majored in dance and sociology and minored in history and fine art.

Her ordination to Multireligious Ministry by many of our national UU leaders, including our new UUA President, the Rev. Dr. Sofia Betancourt, led her to found Dare to Bless the Love, a nonprofit spiritual community working to support cutting-edge religious leadership and social transformation in our society.

We are so glad she has returned to UUSM part-time (20 hours per week) to help us support our young people, our families, and our religious education programming as we work to nurture a flourishing multigenerational community.

This was all made possible by a special $30,000, 2-year matching grant from our friends at the Spirit Level Foundation. We will be striving to match and exceed this total in the next two years to support this critical investment in our community. We hope you will make a contribution to help us realize our hopes and aspirations for the future! Use the donation code SLF when you text a donation.

Rev. Jeremiah Lal Dhahbaz Kalendae
Developmental Minister

Eileen McCormack
President of the Congregation